The opening ceremony of the 67th annual Festival de Cannes took place on May 14th in the Grand Theatre Lumiere. After a live performance of the theme of Jury President Jane Campion’s film The Piano by English composer Michael Nyman, French actor and Master of Ceremony Lambert Wilson welcomed on stage the nine members of the Feature films Jury, and the festival was officially declared open by actress Chiara Mastroianni and director Alfonso Cuaron. The ceremony continued with the screening Out of Competition and Olivier Dahan’s Grace of Monaco, with key members of the movie crew in attendance, including Nicole Kidman, Tim Roth, and Paz Vega.

Other stars leaving an impression on the red carpet included Zhang Ziyi, Blake Lively, Zoe Saldana, Karlie Kloss, and Gong Li. See a selection of opening night red carpet looks below.

Clockwise: Gong Li in Roberto Cavalli, Karlie Kloss in Valentino, Zoe Saldana in Victoria Beckham, Kendall Jenner in Chanel, Zhang Ziyi in Stéphane Rolland Couture, Mallika Sherawat in Pucci, Nicole Kidman in Armani Privé, and Blake Lively in Gucci.




The winners of the 67th Annual Cannes Film Festival will be revealed on Saturday, May 24th, at the traditional awards ceremony in the Grand Théâtre Lumière. The final film in competition will be shown on Friday, May 23rd and the jury will meet the next day to select the winners. The winners of Un Certain Regard award will be announced in the evening of Friday, May 23rd and the Cinéfondation awards will be held the same afternoon, as usual.

All films in Official Selection will be screened again over the weekend of May 24th in the Palais theaters. The Festival will close on Sunday, May 25th with the screening of the Palme d’or.

Opening FilmGrace Of Monaco, dir: Olivier Dahan
Closing Film: To be announced

Winter Sleep, dir: Nuri Bilge Ceylan
Clouds Of Sils Maria, dir: Olivier Assayas
Saint Laurent, dir: Bertrand Bonello
Maps To The Stars, dir: David Cronenberg
Two Days, One Night, dirs: Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne
Mommy, dir: Xavier Dolan
Captives, dir: Atom Egoyan
Goodbye To Language, dir: Jean-Luc Godard
The Search, dir: Michel Hazanavicius
Jimmy’s Hall, dir: Ken Loach
The Homesman, dir: Tommy Lee Jones
Futatsume No Mado, dir: Naomi Kawase
Mr Turner, dir: Mike Leigh
Foxcatcher, dir: Bennett Miller
Leviathan, dir: Andrey Zvyaginstev
Wild Tales, dir: Damian Szifron
Le Meraviglie, dir: Alice Rohrwacher
Timbuktu, Abderrahmane Sissako

Opening Film: Party Girl, dirs: Marie Amachoukeli, Claire Burger, Samuel Theis
Untitled, dir: Lisandro Alonso
La Chambre Bleue, dir: Mathieu Amalric
L’Incompresa, dir: Asia Argento
Lost River, dir: Ryan Gosling
Amour Fou, dir: Jessica Hausner
Titli, dir: Kanu Behl
Charlie’s Country, dir: Rolf de Heer
Bird People, dir: Pascale Ferran
Eleanor Rigby, dir: Ned Benson
Snow In Paradise, dir: Andrew Hulme
A Girl At My Door, dir: July Jung
Xenia, dir: Panos Koutras
Run, dir: Philippe Lacôte
Hermosa Juventud, dir: Jaime Rosales
Turist, dir: Ruben Ostlund
The Salt Of The Earth, dirs: Wim Wenders, Juliano Ribeiro Salgado
Fantasia, dir: Wang Chao
Harcheck Mi Headro, dir: Keren Yedaya

How To Train Your Dragon 2, dir: Dean DeBlois
Coming Home, dir: Zhang Yimou

The Target, dir: Chang
The Salvation, dir: Kristian Levring
The Rover, dir: David Michöd

Eau Argentée, dir: Mohammed Ossama
Maidan, dir: Sergei Loznitsa
Red Army, dir: Polsky Gabe
Caricaturistes – Fantassins De La Démocratie, dir: Stéphanie Valloatto
The Bridges Of Sarajevo, dirs: Aida Begic, Leonardo Di Costanzo, Jean-Luc Godard, Kamen Kalev, isild Le Besco, Sergei Loznitsa, Vincenzo Marra, Ursula Meier, Vladimir Perisic, Cristi Puiu, Marc Recha, Angela Schanelec, Teresa Villaverde
Of Men and War (Des Hommes et de la guerre) by Laurent Bécue-Renard
The Owners by Adilkhan Yerzhanov
Géronimo by Tony Gatlif with Céline Salette, Rachid Yous – a screening of the film will also be organized for the high school students of the PACA Region.


At last El Ardor by Pablo Fendrik (1h40) with Gael Garcia Bernal, member of the Jury of the Competition, will also be featured as a Special Screening.

The New Zealand director, producer and screenwriter Jane Campion, winner of the Palme d’or for The Piano, will be the President of the Jury of the 67th Festival de Cannes. Cannes has always sought to adopt a universal and international approach, and in tune with this tradition, Campion will be surrounded by eight luminaries of world cinema, from China, Korea, Denmark, Iran, the United States, France and Mexico.

As in 2009 the Jury will therefore include five women and four men. Their task will be to decide between the 18 films in Competition in order to select the winners – to be announced on stage at the ceremony on Saturday 24th May. The winner of the Palme d’or will be screened during the Festival’s closing evening on Sunday 25th of May, in the presence of the jury and the entire team from the winning film.

The Jury is as followed:

Jane CAMPION – President (Director, Screenwriter, Producer – New Zealand)

 (Actress – France)
 (Director, Screenwriter, Producer – United States)
 (Actress – Iran)
JEON Do-yeon
 (Actress – South Korea)
Willem DAFOE 
(Actor – United States)
(Actor, Director, Producer – Mexico)
JIA Zhangke
 (Director, Screenwriter, Producer – China) 
Nicolas Winding REFN 
(Director, Screenwriter, Producer – Denmark)

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Where Art, Fashion & Culture Collide

Member Login

Forgot Password?

Join Us

Password Reset

Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.