ATO Records has announced the release of Bob Dylan In The 80s: Volume One – a tribute album to the great Bob Dylan. The album, put together by producers Jesse Lauter and Sean O’Brien, covers material from 1980’s Saved to 1990’s Under The Red Sky and will feature previously unreleased material from “80s basement tapes”. Lauter and O’Brien rounded up an eclectic group of musicians to contribute to the album including Elvis Perkins, Built To Spill, Aaron Freeman of Ween & Slash, Glen Hansard, Reggie Watts, and My Morning Jacket‘s Carl Broemel.

The album’s liner notes, written by novelist Jonathan Lethem, say, “In the famously difficult art of going up against Dylan’s performance of his own material, a number of these reach the highest threshold. I hope Bob Dylan listens to this record, and plays it for his current touring band.”

A portion of the album sales will benefit the charity Pencils of Promise, which builds schools and increases educational opportunities in Asia, Africa and Latin America.

Langhorne Slim & The Law – Got My Mind Made Up
Built To Spill – Jokerman
Reggie Watts – Brownsville Girl (Reprise)
Craig Finn – Sweetheart Like You
Ivan & Alyosha – You Changed My Life
Deer Tick – Night After Night
Dawn Landes & Bonnie “Prince” Billie – Dark Eyes
Tea Leaf Green – Waiting To Get Beat
Aaron Freeman & Slash – Wiggle Wiggle
Elvis Perkins – Congratulations
Hannah Cohen – Covenant Woman
Marco Benevento – Every Grain of Sand
Yellowbirds – Series of Dreams
Blitzen Trapper – Unbelievable
Lucius – When The Night Comes Falling From The Sky
Glen Hansard – Pressing On
Carl Broemel – Death Is Not The End

Album presale is available here.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Where Art, Fashion & Culture Collide

Member Login

Forgot Password?

Join Us

Password Reset

Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.