South Londoner Daniel Woolhouse sees his music as, “sitting somewhere between real and synthetic”, but the emotional impact of his alter ego Deptford Goth is about as human as it gets. Imbued with an intimate, intense, yearning melancholy, perfectly matched to a seamlessly woven ‘scape of synths, beats and atmospheric vocals, new album ‘Life After Defo‘ confirms the arrival of an astonishing new talent.

But who is Deptford Goth? We know his real name, age (28), the color of his eyes (blue) and that he worked as a primary teacher’s assistant before committing fully to music. He’s already turned out remixes for Purity Ring, Blood Diamonds and S.C.U.M. and his talent extends to making the videos to “Feel Real”, “Life After Defo” & “Union” himself. He has been compared to James Blake in that electronically tweaked zone where synth-pop, R&B and soul meet; whilst lovers of The xx may recognise a kindred spirit. But the haunting electronic soul of “Life After Defo” feels very different to both, and three times as heartbreaking.


1. Life After Defo
2. Bronze Age
3. Feel Real
4. Guts No Glory
5. Objects Objects
6. Particles
7. Union
8. Lions
9. Years
10. Deepest
11. Bloody LipMatch_728x90


No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Where Art, Fashion & Culture Collide

Member Login

Forgot Password?

Join Us

Password Reset

Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.