From left to right: (top) Bernie Sanders, Cory Booker, Elizabeth Warren, (bottom) Joe Biden, Tulsi Gabbard, Kamala Harris

The first primary debate of the 2020 campaign is coming up and the DNC has released the 20 candidates that qualify to take the stage. There are two ways to qualify for the debate: fundraising and polling, with some candidates (marked with an asterisk) qualifying through both methods. The debates will air June 26th and 27th.

To see a breakdown of all 20 candidates appearing in the debate, read below.

Joe Biden*

Biden acted as the former Vice President under the Obama Administration and as a Delaware senator for 36 years. He is widely considered a frontrunner for the 2020 primaries and is currently leading the polls.

Elizabeth Warren*

Warren has been serving as the senior U.S. Senator from Massachusetts for the last 13 years.

Bernie Sanders*

Sanders, a self-described democratic socialist, is serving his third term in the Senate and was a member of the House for 16 years before that. He ran unsuccessfully in 2016, but gained a substantial following during his campaign.

Cory Booker*

Booker is the former mayor of Newark, New Jersey and is currently serving as the junior United States Senator for New Jersey.

Julián Castro*

Castro served as the mayor of San Antonio, Texas for five years before becoming the youngest member of President Obama’s Cabinet as the Secretary of Housing and Urban Development.

Bill de Blasio

De Blasio is currently serving his second term as the mayor of New York City, NY.

Pete Buttigieg*

Buttigieg is the current mayor of South Bend, IN. He served as a lieutenant in the U.S. Navy Reserve and even took a seven-month leave during his mayoral term to deploy to Afghanistan. Buttigieg is the only openly gay candidate to ever qualify for the debate.

Kirsten Gillibrand*

Gillibrand is currently serving as the junior U.S. Senator from New York and was previously a member of the House. She is most noted for her work in helping repeal the “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” policy that prohibited gays from serving openly in the military.

Kamala Harris*

Harris was the first African American and first woman to serve as the Attorney General for California and was the second African American woman elected to the U.S. Senate in 2016.

Tulsi Gabbard*

Gabbard became the first Samoan American and first Hindu member of Congress when she was elected to the U.S. House in 2012 to represent Hawaii. She is the only female combat veteran to ever run for president.

John Hickenlooper

Hickenlooper served as the 42nd governor of Colorado from 2011 to 2019, serving two full terms.

Amy Klobuchar*

Klobuchar is currently serving as a U.S. Senator from Minnesota, a position she has filled since being elected in 2007.

Beto O’Rourke*

O’Rourke was a member of the U.S. House from 2013 to 2019, and ran unsuccessfully for Texas’ Senate seat in the 2018 midterm elections.

Andrew Yang*

Yang is an entrepreneur, philanthropist and founder of Venture for America. He is one of two candidates who is not a career politician.

Marianne Williamson*

Williamson is a New York Time’s Bestselling author and philanthropist from Texas. She is often dubbed a “spiritual guru” and is one of two candidates who is not a career politician.

Eric Swalwell

Swalwell has been serving as a member of the U.S. House since 2013, representing California’s 15th congressional district.

Tim Ryan

Ryan is currently serving his eighth term as the U.S. Representative from Ohio’s 13th congressional district.

Jay Inslee*

Inslee is the current governor of Washington state and is running primarily on the platform of stopping climate change. He served in the U.S. House for a combine 15 years.

John Delaney

Delaney is a businessman who served as the U.S. Representative for Maryland’s 6th congressional district from 2013 to 2019.

Michael Bennet

Bennet is the senior U.S. senator from Colorado. He has been serving since 2009.

Where Art, Fashion & Culture Collide

Member Login

Forgot Password?

Join Us

Password Reset

Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.