In celebration of the recent, critically acclaimed Netflix original documentary, What Happened Miss Simone?, Music/RCA Records has released “Nina Simone Revisited: A Tribute to Nina Simone”. The 16-track soundtrack album pays homage to the late, blues singer with reworked renditions of her most popular records.

Nina Simone, originally from North Carolina, is most famously known for her songs such as “Feelin’ Good” and “Strange Fruit” – to which rapper, Kanye West samples in his 2013 hit record, “Blood on the Leaves.”

The album will include features by a group of A-list musicians and performers. The list will include Mary J. Blige, CommonUsher, Lisa Simone (Nina Simone’s daughter), and Ms. Lauryn Hill, who will be singing “Feelin’ Good.”

Following the documentary, which was the first tribute film, this album is also the first dedicate solely to Nina Simone’s legacy and approved by her estate.

NINA REVISITED: A Tribute to Nina Simone Tracklisting

01 My Mama Could Sing (Intro) – Lisa Simone

02 Feeling Good – Ms. Lauryn Hill

03 I’ve Got Life – Ms. Lauryn Hill

04 Ne Me Quitte Pas – Ms. Lauryn Hill

05 Baltimore – Jazmine Sullivan

06 Love Me Or Leave Me – GRACE

07 My Baby Just Cares For Me – Usher

08 Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood – Mary J. Blige

09 Sinnerman – Gregory Porter

10 We Are Young Gifted & Black – Common & Lalah Hathaway

11 I Put A Spell On You – Alice Smith

12 I Want A Little Sugar In My Bowl – Lisa Simone

13 Black Is The Color Of My True Love’s Hair – Ms. Lauryn Hill

14 Wild Is The Wind – Ms. Lauryn Hill

15 African Mailman (Instrumental)

16 I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free – Nina Simone

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed

Where Art, Fashion & Culture Collide

Member Login

Forgot Password?

Join Us

Password Reset

Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.