Cate Blanchett, Rihanna, and Sandra Bullock have all been confirmed for Oceans 8. Images courtesy of Getty.

In a move that either signifies that Hollywood is finally addressing its lack of female leads or producers realized that feminism sells, it has just been announced that the latest film in the Oceans 11 franchise, Oceans 8, will feature an all-female cast. This follows on the heels of the recent Ghostbusters remake, which stars Melissa McCarthy, Leslie Jones, Kristen Wiig, Sigourney Weaver, and Kate McKinnon. Whatever the reasoning, the news is an exciting development as an A-list team of actresses and cultural icons have already been named for the film which will be directed by Gary Ross. Oscar winners, Sandra Bullock, Cate Blanchett, and Anne Hathaway are already confirmed. So is Oscar nominee, Helena Bonham Carter. Other members of the Oceans 8 gang will include Mindy Kaling, social media rap sensation, Awkwafina, and Rihanna who has been concentrating on acting lately and was just involved in Luc Besson’s latest film, Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets. The 8th member of the Oceans team is currently a mystery but there’s still time, shooting doesn’t begin until October.

While the decision to give Oceans 8 a healthy dose of girl power may have come from the presumed profitability of the well-known lead actresses, it speaks volumes that Hollywood is willing to take chances on a big-budget movie with nary a male star in sight. The original Oceans 11 film of 1960 was a vehicle for Frank Sinatra and his gang and the highly lucrative 2001 remake showcased George Clooney, Brad Pitt, and Matt Damon at their most dapper. Times are definitely changing, we would bet that most millennials would pick Rihanna over Brad Pitt, any day.

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed

Where Art, Fashion & Culture Collide

Member Login

Forgot Password?

Join Us

Password Reset

Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.