L-R: Special Honorees Narciso Rodriguez, Diane von Furstenberg and Donatella Versace

The CFDA (Council of Fashion Designers of America) has released its official list of 2018 nominees and honorees. Issa Rae will host this year’s Fashion Awards and the ceremony will move to a new location: Brooklyn, New York. The CFDA also announced the special honorees for 2018: the Swarovski Award for Positive Change will go to Diane von Furstenberg, Narciso Rodriguez will be presented with the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, Carolina Herrera will receive The Founder’s Award in honor of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert, the Media Award goes to British Vogue EIC Edward Enninful and Donatella Versace will win the International Award.

Anna Wintour at the 2017 CFDA Awards. Photo by Getty Images.

Earlier this year, the CFDA pledged to prioritize inclusivity and diversity. “We hope to see more inclusivity in the industry, and by that we mean diversity in fashion companies, and on runways. And diversity doesn’t just pertain to ethnicity, but also to gender and body type. In 2017, all this moved to the forefront of the fashion conversation and we registered some positive signs…We are making strides, but we still have ways to go. Here’s to even more inclusivity in 2018,” the council wrote in a statement. Judge for yourself whether they’re making strides towards a more inclusive industry and see the full list of Fashion Awards nominees below.

Womenswear Designer of The Year

Raf Simons for Calvin Klein
Gabriela Hearst
Marc Jacobs
Virgil Abloh for Off-White
Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen for The Row

Menswear Designer of The Year

Raf Simons for Calvin Klein
James Jebbia for Supreme
Virgil Abloh for Off-White
Tom Ford
Thom Browne

Accessory Designer of The Year

Paul Andrew
Stuart Vevers for Coach
Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel
Irene Neuwirth
Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen for The Row

The Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent

Mike Amiri for Amiri
Laura Vassar and Kristopher Brock for Brock Collection
Aurora James for Brother Vellies
Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss
Sander Lak for Sies Marjan

Special Honorees

The Swarovski Award for Positive Change: Diane von Furstenberg
The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Narciso Rodriguez
The Founder’s Award: Carolina Herrera
The Media Award: Edward Enninful
The International Award: Donatella Versace

Where Art, Fashion & Culture Collide

Member Login

Forgot Password?

Join Us

Password Reset

Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.