Gigi Hadid, Nadja Swarovski, Rosie Assoulin, Shayne Oliver, Floriana Gavriel, Rachel Mansur, Zachary Quinto
Gigi Hadid, Nadja Swarovski, Rosie Assoulin, Shayne Oliver, Floriana Gavriel, Rachel Mansur, Zachary Quinto

The Oscars of fashion, the CFDA Awards, were presented on June 1st at the Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln Center. While events such as the Oscars are fashion awards in and of themselves as “Who are you wearing?” emerges off everyone’s lips, at CFDA, the designers are the ones who take home the awards. Recognizing the best American designers, the CFDA presents awards in womenswear, menswear, accessories, and extraordinary accomplishments in journalism, creative vision, and lifetime achievement. Nominations in each category were voted on by the CFDA Fashion Awards Selection Committee, composed of over 400 retailers, journalists, and stylists.

Comedian James Cordon kept the night going with self-deprecating jokes about being the least fashionable person in the room, and the colorful fashion icon and designer, Betsey Johnson, added some fun by doing the splits (and losing a shoe, and having to be helped up by Kelly Osbourne) as she accepted her Lifetime Achievement Award.

Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row beat out this year’s other nominees for Womenswear Designer of the Year, including  Joseph Altuzarra, Marc Jacobs, Michael Kors, and Proenza Schouler, with the award presented by Amanda Seyfreid.

Menswear Designer of the Year nominees included Public School, Rag & Bone, Tom Ford, Tim Coppens and Thom Browne, but the prize ultimately went to Shayne Oliver for Hood by Air, which wasn’t much of a surprise to anyone in attendance.

The Row was also nominated in the category of Accessory Designer Award, but the prize went to Tabitha Simmons, with the award presented by  Taraji P. Henson of Empire.

It was a night that tied together all of fashion’s major trendsetters, with Pharrell Williams as this year’s Style Icon – big shoes (or should we say big hats) to fill from last year’s Icon, Rihanna, who made a not soon forgotten statement with her sparkly sheer gown. Social media’s impact on fashion was celebrated as Kim Kardashian (of course) presented the Eugenia Sheppard Media Award to Instagram.

See below for a full list of winners:

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

Menswear Designer of the Year: Tom Ford

Accessories Designer of the Year: Tabitha Simmons

Swarovski Award for Womenswear: Rosie Assoulin

Swarovski Award for Menswear: Shayne Oliver for Hood by Air

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design: Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Betsey Johnson

The Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard: Instagram

The Founder’s Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert: Millard “Mickey” Drexler, Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Board of J.Crew Group, Inc.

International Award: Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino

Where Art, Fashion & Culture Collide

Member Login

Forgot Password?

Join Us

Password Reset

Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.