Louise Wilson OBE Tribute
Louise Wilson OBE Tribute, photo by: Shaun James Cox

On Monday, December 1st, 2014, the British Fashion Awards took place at the London Coliseum. Hosted by Jack Whitehall, the ceremony saw the best of the British and international fashion industries. Over 2000 people gathered to celebrate the successes of the fashion industry over the past year with guests including RihannaAnna Wintour OBE, Valentino Garavani, Naomi Campbell, Kate Moss, Victoria & David Beckham, Lana del Rey and Courtney Love.

This year’s ceremony was surprisingly filled with emotion, with a surprise appearance by John Galliano, who presented Anna Wintour with the award for Outstanding Achievement. Introducing the American Vogue editor-in-chief, Galliano recalled the many times Wintour supported him, especially during his time as “an outcast.” His appearance at the 2014 BFA marks his first public appearance since being shunned from the fashion industry in 2011. Wintour accepted the award in a long black gown, which was later confirmed as Galliano’s first piece for Margiela, since taking on the role as the fashion house’s creative director.

The late Central Saint Martins professor, Louise Wilson, was also honoured at the ceremony in a tribute that saw models wearing looks by designers she had taught, including Christopher Kane, Alexander McQueen, and Mary Katrantzou. The soundtrack featured “Remember Me” by Diana Ross and a Samuel L. Jackson voiceover, reciting some of Wilson’s own famous words of advice: “Believe in your fucking self. Stay up all fucking night. Know when to fucking speak up. Fucking collaborate! Get over your fucking self.”

See the full list of winners below.

2014 BFA
Photo by: Kensington Leverne
BFA 2014
Cara Delevingne, Tallulah Harlech, Bee Shaffer, Anna Wintour & Victoria Beckham, photo by: Darren Gerrish
BFA 2014
Edward Enninful, Rihanna & Naomi Campbell, photo by: Shaun James Cox


2014 BFA Winners:

Emerging Womenswear Designer: Marques’Almeida
Emerging Menswear Designer: Craig Green
Emerging Accessory Designer: Prism
Red Carpet Designer: Alexander McQueen
Model of the Year: Cara Delevingne
Special Recognition: Chris Moore
Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator: Edward Enninful
International Designer: Nicolas Ghesquière
Outstanding Achievement: Anna Wintour OBE
Creative Campaign: Louis Vuitton
New Establishment: Simone Rocha
Establishment: Preen
Brand: Victoria Beckham
British Style: Emma Watson
Accessory: Anya Hindmarch
Menswear: J.W. Anderson
Womenswear: Erdem

Where Art, Fashion & Culture Collide


Member Login

Forgot Password?

Join Us

Password Reset

Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.