The 94th annual Academy Awards ceremony, presented by the Academy of Motion Picture and Arts and Sciences, will take place on Sunday, March 27, 2022. The ceremony will be located at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood. A variety of outstanding performances between March 1st and December 31, 2021, will be awarded that night. The Power of the Dogs leads the nominees this year with a total of 12 nominations including Best Picture and best director. Dune follows up with a total of 10 nominations including Best Picture as well. Our favorite films from the year will be honored, check out the nominees below.

Best Actor 

Javier Bardem, Being the Ricardos

Benedict Cumberbatch, The Power of the Dog

Andrew Garfield, tick, tick…BOOM!

Will Smith, King Richard

Denzel Washington, The Tragedy of Macbeth

Best Supporting Actor

Ciarán Hinds, Belfast

Troy Kostur, CODA

Jesse Plemons, The Power of the Dog

J.K. Simmons, Being the Ricardos

Kodi Smit-Mcphee, The Power of the Dog

Best Actress

Jessica Chastain, The Eyes of Tammy Faye

Olivia Colman, The Lost Daughter

Penélope Cruz, Parallel Mothers

Nicole Kidman, Being the Ricardos

Kristen Stewart, Spencer

Best Supporting Actress

Jessie Buckley, The Lost Daughter

Ariana Deebose, West Side Story

Judi Dench, Belfast

Kirsten Dunst, The Power of the Dog

Aunjanue Ellis, King Richard

Best Animated Feature Film

Jared Bush, Byron Howard, Yvett Merino and Clark Spencer, Encanto

Jonas Poher Rasmussen, Monica Hellström, Signe Byrge Sørensen and Charlotte De La Gournerie, Flee

Enrico Casarosa and Andrea Warren, Luca

Mike Rianda, Phil Lord, Christopher Miller and Kurt Albrecht, The Mitchells vs. the Machines

Don Hall, Carlos López Estrada, Osnat Shurer and Peter Del Vecho, Raya and the Last Dragon

Best Cinematography 

Greig Fraser, Dune

Dan Laustsen, Nightmare Alley

Ari Wegner, The Power of the Dog

Bruno Delbonnel, The Tragedy of Macbeth

Janusz Kaminski, West Side Story

Best Costume Design

Jenny Beavan, Cruella

Massimo Cantini Parrini and Jacqueline Durran, Cyrano

Jacqueline West and Robert Morgan, Dune

Luis Sequeira, Nightmare Alley

Paul Tazewell, West Side Story

Best Directing

Kenneth Branagh, Belfast

Ryusuke Hamaguchi, Drive My Car

Paul Thomas Anderson, Licorice Pizza

Jane Campion, The Power of the Dog

Steven Spielberg, West Side Story

Best Feature Documentary

Jessica Kingdon, Kira Simon-Kennedy and Nathan Truesdell, Ascension

Stanley Nelson and Traci A. Curry, Attica

Jonas Poher Rasmussen, Monica Hellström, Signe Byrge Sørensen and Charlotte De La Gournerie, Flee

Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson, Joseph Patel, Robert Fyvolent and David Dinerstein, Summer of Soul

Rintu Thomas and Sushmit Ghosh, Writing with Fire

Best Short Subject Documentary

Matt Ogens and Geoff McLean, Audible

Pedro Kos and Jon Shenk, Lead Me Home

Ben Proudfoot, The Queen of Basketball

Elizabeth Mirzaei and Gulistan Mirzaei, Three Songs for Benazir

Jay Rosenblatt, When We Were Bullies

Best Film Editing

Hank Corwin, Don’t Look Up

Joe Walker, Dune

Pamela Martin, King Richard

Peter Sciberras, The Power of the Dog

Myron Kerstein and Andrew Weisblum, tick, tick…BOOM!

Best International Feature Film

Drive My Car 


The Hand of God 

Lunana: A Yak in the Classroom

The Worst Person in the World 

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

Mike Marino, Stacey Morris and Carla Farmer, Coming 2 America

Nadia Stacey, Naomi Donne and Julia Vernon, Cruella

Donald Mowat, Love Larson and Eva von Bahr, Dune

Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram and Justin Raleigh, The Eyes of Tammy Faye

Göran Lundström, Anna Carin Lock and Frederic Aspiras, House of Gucci

Best Original Score

Nicholas Britell, Don’t Look Up

Hans Zimmer, Dune

Germaine Franco, Encanto

Alberto Iglesias, Parallel Mothers

Jonny Greenwood, The Power of the Dog

Best Original Song

Be Alive from King Richard; Music and Lyric by DIXSON and Beyoncé Knowles-Carter 

Dos Oruguitas from Encanto; Music and Lyric by Lin-Manuel Miranda

Down to Joy from Belfast; Music and Lyric by Van Morrison

No Time to Diefrom No Time to Die; Music and Lyric by Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell

Somehow You Dofrom Four Good Days; Music and Lyric by Diane Warren

Best Picture

Laura Berwick, Kenneth Branagh, Becca Kovacik and Tamar Thomas, Producers, Belfast

Philippe Rousselet, Fabrice Gianfermi and Patrick Wachsberger, Producers, Coda

Adam McKay and Kevin Messick, Producers, Don’t Look Up

Teruhisa Yamamoto, Producer, Drive My Car

Mary Parent, Denis Villeneuve and Cale Boyter, Producers, Dune

Tim White, Trevor White and Will Smith, Producers, King Richard 

Sara Murphy, Adam Somner and Paul Thomas Anderson, Producers, Licorice Pizza

Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale and Bradley Cooper, Producers, Nightmare Alley

Jane Campion, Tanya Seghatchian, Emile Sherman, Iain Canning and Roger Frappier, The Power of the Dog

Steven Spielberg and Kristie Macosko Krieger, Producers, West Side Story

Best Product Design

Patrice Vermette; Set Decoration: Zsuzsanna Sipo, Dune

Tamara Deverell; Set Decoration: Shane Vieau, Nightmare Alley

Grant Major; Set Decoration: Amber Richards, The Power of the Dog

Stefan Dechant; Set Decoration: Nancy Haigh, The Tragedy of Macbeth

Adam Stockhausen; Set Decoration: Rena DeAngelo, West Side Story

Best Animated Short Film

Joanna Quinn and Les Mills, Affairs of the Art

Hugo Covarrubias and Tevo Díaz, Bestia

Anton Dyakov, Boxballet

Dan Ojari and Mikey Please, Robin Robin

Alberto Mielgo and Leo Sanchez, The Windshield Wiper

Best Live Action Short Film

Maria Brendle and Nadine Lüchinger, Ala Kachuu – Take and Run

Tadeusz Łysiak and Maciej Ślesicki, The Dress

Aneil Karia and Riz Ahmed, The Long Goodbye

Martin Strange-Hansen and Kim Magnusson, On My Mind

K.D. Dávila and Levin Menekse, Please Hold

Best Sound

Denise Yarde, Simon Chase, James Mather and Niv Adiri, Belfast

Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Theo Green, Doug Hemphill and Ron Bartlett, Dune

Simon Hayes, Oliver Tarney, James Harrison, Paul Massey and Mark Taylor, No Time to Die

Richard Flynn, Robert Mackenzie and Tara Webb, The Power of the Dog

Tod A. Maitland, Gary Rydstrom, Brian Chumney, Andy Nelson and Shawn Murphy, West Side Story

Best Visual Effects

Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Brian Connor and Gerd Nefzer, Dune

Swen Gillberg, Bryan Grill, Nikos Kalaitzidis and Dan Sudick, Free Guy

Charlie Noble, Joel Green, Jonathan Fawkner and Chris Corbould, No Time to Die

Christopher Townsend, Joe Farrell, Sean Noel Walker and Dan Oliver, Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings:

Kelly Port, Chris Waegner, Scott Edelstein and Dan Sudick, Spider-Man: No Way Home

Best Adapted Screenplay

Siân Heder,Coda

Ryusuke Hamaguchi, Takamasa Oe, Drive My Car

Jon Spaihts and Denis Villeneuve and Eric Rote, Dune

Maggie Gyllenhaal, The Lost Daughter

Jane Campion, The Power of the Dog

Best Original Screenplay

Kenneth Branagh, Belfast

Adam McKay; Story by Adam McKay & David Sirota, Don’t Look Up

Zach Baylin, King Richard

Paul Thomas Anderson, Licorice Pizza

Eskil Vogt, Joachim Trier, The Worst Person in the World

For More Information Follow Go to the Academy Awards Website

Where Art, Fashion & Culture Collide

X (Twitter)

Member Login

Forgot Password?

Join Us

Password Reset

Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.