The British Fashion Council has today announced nine of London’s brightest emerging fashion labels that will receive sponsorship to showcase SS14 collections at London Fashion Week (13th – 17th September 2013) from the newly focused designer support initiative, NEWGEN sponsored by TOPSHOP.

Catwalk sponsorship: J.JS Lee, Lucas Nascimento, Marques’Almeida, Simone Rocha, Sister by Sibling

Presentation sponsorship: 1205, Nasir Mazhar, Sophia Webster

Exhibition sponsorship: Liam Fahy

As part of the BFC’s three year strategy to support growth in the sector, it is developing and broadening its designer business support. The BFC have recognised that with growing international demand, existing and new schemes need to focus further on the designers at this crucial stage of their business development. NEWGEN will remain the BFC’s landmark scheme to support the very best emerging talents whose ambition is to build global, high end fashion brands for the future.

NEWGEN designers are identified by their creativity, strong design aesthetic and point of difference. This season the NEWGEN committee, chaired by Sarah Mower, focused on selecting designers that are ready for the profile, platform and support that NEWGEN offers. The committee will form mentoring support groups for NEWGEN designers, the British Fashion Council will deliver a series of focused seminars and 1:1 workshops, and TOPSHOP, the long-term partner of NEWGEN has committed access to their team’s vast knowledge on all aspects of the business, to assist the designers as they build their own infrastructure and skills.

“Being part of NEWGEN puts designers on a fast-track to international exposure, giving them the opportunity to learn how to do business and allowing them to meet with top level buyers and press. With the professional backup of an amazing volunteer team of NEWGEN industry committee members, all of the winners this season have honed their product and upped their game. We can’t wait for London Fashion Week to see what they’ll do” – Sarah Mower MBE, BFC Ambassador for Emerging Talent and chair of the NEWGEN selection committee.

Previous NEWGEN winners include Alexander McQueen, Antonio Berardi, Boudicca, Christopher Kane, Clements Ribeiro, David Koma, Erdem, Gareth Pugh, Holly Fulton, Jonathan Saunders, Julien Macdonald , Louise Gray, Marios Schwab, Mary Katrantzou, Matthew Williamson, Meadham Kirchhoff, Michael van der Ham, Peter Pilotto, Richard Nicoll and Sophia Kokosalaki.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Where Art, Fashion & Culture Collide

Member Login

Forgot Password?

Join Us

Password Reset

Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.