The 2013 amFAR Inspiration Gala took place at The Plaza Hotel in New York City on Thursday, June 13. To date, the black tie event has raised over $6 million dollars for amFAR and this year the gala was presented by M.A.C Viva Glam. Every year, the inspiration series takes place in five major cities across the world including New York, Paris, and Miami. This year in 2013, Toronto and Rio de Janeiro will be added to that list.

The night welcomed special guest Liza Minnelli, included a performance by Carly Rae Jepsen, and featured DJ The Dolls who include Mia Moretti and Caitlin Moe.

2013 Honorees

4th Annual amfAR Inspiration Gala New York - Show

Award of Inspiration: Valentino
Humanitarian Award: Jennifer Lopez
Award of Courage: Alam Cumming

Valentino was recipient of the Award of Inspiration not only for his lifetime contribution to the fashion world but also for his association for the support of AIDS: L.I.F.E. Jennifer Lopez has supported a range of causes in the past decade including work with the LA Children’s Hospital and American Red Cross. For these reasons she received The Humanitarian Award. Lastly, Alan Cumming added the Award of Courage to his long list of recognitions for his promotion of LGBT and AIDS issues.



6:30pm Cocktail Reception
8:00pm Fashion Show: Interpretive Camouflage and Military Tailoring
9:00pm Dinner, Performance, and Live Auction

Designers featured in the Gala fashion show

Alejandro Ingelmo, Asaf Ganot, Asher Levine, Band of Outsiders, Bottega Veneta, Calvin Klein Collection, Dsquared2, Hugo Boss, Ian Velardi, Iceberg, Jean Paul Gaultier, John Bartlett, John Varvatos, Kenneth Cole, Kenzo, Lanvin, Louis Leeman, Lucio Castro, Marc Jacobs, Michael Bastian, Michael Hockey, Michael Kors, Patrik Ervell, Ralph Lauren, Richard Chai, Rick Owens, Rodrigo Otazu, Sand, Shipley & Halmos, Ted Baker, The Blonds, Thom Browne

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Where Art, Fashion & Culture Collide

Member Login

Forgot Password?

Join Us

Password Reset

Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.