2013 CFDA FASHION AWARDS Underwritten By Swarovski - Show

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Vera Wang

The 2013 CFDA (The Council of Fashion Designers of America, Inc.) Fashion Awards took place June 3rd at Alice Tully Hall in Lincoln Center. The CFDA is a not-for-profit trade association whose membership consists of more than 400 of America’s foremost womenswear, menswear, jewelry and accessory designers. CFDA membership is by invitation only. The awards, underwritten by Swarovski, included Womenswear and Menswear designers of the year awards, the International Award, as well as The Board of Directors’ Tribute award. 3.1 Phillip Lim, Vera Wang, Riccardo Tisci, Oscar de la Renta and Thom Browne are some of the many notable designers recognized at the event.

2013 CFDA Fashion Awards - Show

The Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert: Oscar de la Renta

Accessories Designer of the Year: Phillip Lim for 3.1 Phillip Lim
Menswear Designer of the Year: Thom Browne
Womenswear Designer of the Year: Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler
Swarovski Menswear Designer of the Year: Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne for Public School
Swarovski Womenswear Designer of the Year: Max Osterweis and Erin Beatty for Suno
Swarovski Accessories Designer of the Year: Pamela Love
The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Vera Wang
The Media Award in honor of Eugenia Sheppard: Tim Blanks
The Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert: Oscar de la Renta
The Board of Directors’ Tribute: Colleen Atwood
The International Award: Riccardo Tisci


Left to Right: Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough of Proenza Schouler pose with Kerry Washington, Riccardo Tisci and actress Jessica Chastain, Dan Stevens with Thom Browne

The Council of Fashion Designers of America, Inc. was organized in 1962 by Eleanor Lambert who remained an honorary member until 2003. As an outstanding publicist in fashion, design, the arts and contemporary taste, Lambert got her start as the original Press Director of the Whitney Museum of American Art in the early 1930’s. The Founder’s Award is named after Eleanor, to honor her unique contribution to the world of fashion and to the industry.

The mission of the Council of Fashion Designers of America is:
– To further the position of Fashion design as a recognized branch of American art and culture;
– To advance artistic and professional standards within the Fashion industry;
– To establish and maintain a code of ethics and practices of mutual benefit in professional, public, and trade relations;
– To promote and improve public understanding and appreciation of the Fashion arts through leadership in quality and taste;
– To create partnerships which lead to collaborative design opportunities for our Members;
– To support the overall growth of American Fashion as a global industry.

Board of Directors:
Diane von Furstenberg PRESIDENT
Marcus Wainwright VICE PRESIDENT
Selima Salaun TREASURER

CFDA Sponsors: Maestro Dobel, Veuve Clicquot, W Hotels, Lexus, United Airlines, HP

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Where Art, Fashion & Culture Collide


Member Login

Forgot Password?

Join Us

Password Reset

Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.