L-R: Angelina Jolie in Ralph Russo with Cambodian American activist Loung Ung, Naomie Harris in Zuhair Murad couture, Jennifer Lawrence in Christian Dior couture

Following in the footsteps of award ceremonies of the past few months, including the Golden Globes and the SAG Awards, stars wore black in honor of Time’s Up to the 2018 BAFTA Awards. Prior to the ceremony, held at the Royal Albert Hall in London, several activists from the group Sisters Uncut crashed the red carpet wearing t-shirts that read “Time’s Up Theresa,” a reference to Theresa May’s upcoming Domestic Violence and Abuse Bill, which critics have argued will criminalize survivors and cut funding to domestic violence services.

Protesters crashing the red carpet. Photo by Daniel Leal-Olivias/AFP/Getty Images.

Though police removed the protestors, pointed statements regarding sexual misconduct and gender equality were made on stage throughout the night. Martin McDonagh, writer and director of “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” (which swept up five awards) stated, “our film is a hopeful one in lots of ways but it’s also an angry one, and as we’ve seen this year, sometimes anger is the only way to get people to listen and to change, so we’re thrilled that BAFTA has recognised this.”

Frances McDormand. Photo by Rex Images.

Frances McDormand, accepting her award for best actress in “Three Billboards,” built on McDonagh’s statement and addressed the fact that she did not wear black: “I want you to know I stand in full solidarity with my sisters tonight in black. I also want to say that I appreciate a well-organised act of civil disobedience.”

See below for the full list of winners:

Call Me By Your Name (Emilie Georges, Luca Guadagnino, Marco Morabito, Peter Spears)
Darkest Hour (Tim Bevan, Lisa Bruce, Eric Fellner, Anthony McCarten, Douglas Urbanski)
Dunkirk (Christopher Nolan, Emma Thomas)
The Shape of Water (Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale)
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri (Graham Broadbent, Pete Czernin, Martin McDonagh) – winner

Blad Runner 2049 (Denis Villeneuve)
Call Me By Your Name (Luca Guadagnino)
Dunkirk (Christopher Nolan)
The Shape of Water (Guillermo del Toro) – winner
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri (Martin McDonagh)

Annette Benning (Film Stars Don’t Die in Liverpool)
Frances McDormand (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri) – winner
Margot Robbie (I, Tonya)
Sally Hawkins (The Shape of Water)
Saoirse Ronan (Lady Bird)

Daniel Day-Lewis (Phantom Thread)
Daniel Kaluuya (Get Out)
Gary Oldman (Darkest Hour) – winner
Jamie Bell (Film Stars Don’t Die in Liverpool)
Timothée Chalamet (Call Me by Your Name)

Allison Janney (I, Tonya) – winner
Kristin Scott Thomas (Darkest Hour)
Laurie Metcalf (Lady Bird)
Lesley Manville (Phantom Thread)
Octavia Spencer (The Shape of Water)

Christopher Plummer (All the Money in the World)
Hugh Grant (Paddington 2)
Sam Rockwell (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri) – winner
Willem Dafoe (The Florida Project)
Woody Harrelson (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)

Darkest Hour (Joe Wright, Tim Bevan, Lisa Bruce, Eric Fellner, Anthony McCarten, Douglas Urbanski)
The Death of Stalin (Armando Iannucci, Kevin Loader, Laurent Zeitoun, Yann Zenou, Ian Martin, David Schneider)
God’s Own Country (Francis Lee, Manon Ardisson, Jack Tarling)
Lady Macbeth (William Oldroyd, Fodhla Cronin O’Reilly, Alice Birch)
Paddington 2 (Paul King, David Heyman, Simon Farnaby)
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri (Martin McDonagh, Graham Broadbent, Pete Czernin) – winner

City of Ghosts (Matthew Heineman)
I Am Not Your Negro (Raoul Peck) – winner
Icarus (Bryan Fogel, Dan Cogan)
An Inconvenient Sequel (Bonni Cohen, Jon Shenk)
Jane (Brett Morgen)

Where Art, Fashion & Culture Collide

Member Login

Forgot Password?

Join Us

Password Reset

Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.