View Gallery 25 Photos

The 23rd annual ARTWALK NY, New York’s foremost charity art auction benefiting the Coalition for the Homeless, took over Spring Studios on Wednesday, November 29th. This year’s event, presented by Max Mara with special guest Debbie Harry of Blondie, celebrated the work of Artist Honoree Louise Fishman and Philanthropic Honorees Vincent and Shelly Fremont.

Each year, ARTWALK NY unites artists, patrons and other notable and compassionate New Yorkers to celebrate the “artist-as-activist” and bring critical attention to the issues of homelessness, poverty and social injustice. The Coalition for the Homeless has provided emergency food, clothing, eviction prevention services, permanent housing, job training and special programs for youth for homeless men, women and children for the past 36 years. It continues its mission thanks to generous support from ARTWALK NY—this year’s fundraiser topped last year with a total of $860,000 donated.

2017 Artist Honoree Louise Fishman. Photo Brian Buckley / Courtesy of Cheim & Read, New York

The 2017 Artist Honoree was painter Louise Fishman, who has defied categorization and explored her Jewish, feminist and lesbian identity in a body of work spanning over five decades. This year’s ARTWALK also featured Vincent and Shelly Fremont as Philanthropic Honorees in recognition of the important role they have played in the art world and as long supporters of the Coalition. They served as co-chairs of ARTWALK’s Art Advisory Board from its inception in 1981 up until 2015.

The charity auction included roughly 100 works by acclaimed artists including Louise Fishman, Cecily Brown, Mary Heilmann, Jenny Holzer, Alex Katz, Jack Pierson, and Ed Ruscha. Notable guests included Peter M. Brant and Stephanie Seymore Brant, Zoe Buckman, Stephanie LaCava and Christopher Makos.

See below for the full list of ARTWALK event co-chairs:

Austin Fremont, Bob Colacello, Casey Fremont, Jane Holzer, Maria Giulia Maramotti, Patty Brundage and Billy Copley, Robert Lococo, and Peter M. Brant and Stephanie Seymour Brant.

ARTWALK Host committee:

Amy Astley, Marianne Boesky, John Cheim, Adam Cohen, Alexandra Chemla, Cary Leitzes, Andrew Kreps, Anton Kern, Elizabeth Margulies, Bettina Prentice, Chiara Repetto, Doreen Remen, Hilary Rhoda, Howard Read, Inga Rubenstein, David Schrader, Dan Tanzilli, Ellie Rines, Eric Shiner, Marlies Verhoeven, and Linda Yablonsky.

Where Art, Fashion & Culture Collide

Member Login

Forgot Password?

Join Us

Password Reset

Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.