This year’s Tribeca Film Festival announced the winners of its competition categories as the week-long event came to a close on April 29th. “Diane,” a drama written and directed by Kent Jones (and produced by Martin Scorsese) lead with three awards including the prestigious prize for Best Narrative Feature. The Nora Ephron Award honoring a female writer and/or director went to Nia DaCosta for “Little Woods,” a thriller that follows two sisters as they struggle to make ends meet. See the full list of winners below!

“Duck Butter”

U.S. NARRATIVE COMPETITION – juried by Justin Bartha, Alexander Dinelaris, Bilge Ebiri, Amy Hobby, Chris Messina and Lakeith Stanfield

Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature – “Diane,” written and directed by Kent Jones.

Best Actress in a U.S. Narrative Feature Film – Alia Shawkat in “Duck Butter”

Best Actor in a U.S. Narrative Feature Film – Jeffrey Wright in “O.G.”

Best Cinematography in a U.S. Narrative Feature Film – Wyatt Garfield for “Diane”

Best Screenplay in a U.S. Narrative Feature Film – Kent Jones for “Diane”


International Narrative Competition – juried by Florence Almozini, Martha Coolidge, Andre Holland, Haifaa Al Mansour and Ray Liotta

Best International Narrative Feature – “Smuggling Hendrix” (Cyprus, Germany, Greece) written and directed by Marios Piperides

Best Actress in an International Narrative Feature Film – Joy Rieger in “Virgins” (France, Israel, Belgium)

Best Actor in an International Narrative Feature Film – Rasmus Bruun in “The Saint Bernard Syndicate” (Denmark)

Best Cinematography in an International Narrative Feature Film – Albert Salas for “Obey” (UK)

Best Screenplay in an International Narrative Feature Film – “The Saint Bernard Syndicate” written by Lærke Sanderhoff (Denmark)

“Tanzania Transit”

Documentary Competition – juried by Dan Cogan, Kirsten Johnson and Brett Morgen

Best Documentary Feature – “Island of the Hungry Ghosts,” directed by Gabrielle Brady (Germany, UK, Australia)

Best Cinematography in a Documentary Film – Niels van Koevorden for “Tanzania Transit” (Netherlands)

Best Editing in a Documentary Film – Frederick Shanahan, Jon Kasbe, Caitlyn Greene for “When Lambs Become Lions” (USA)

“To Dust”

BEST NEW NARRATIVE DIRECTOR COMPETITION – juried by Josh Charles, Joshua Leonard and Zosia Mamet

Best New Narrative Director – Shawn Snyder, director of “To Dust” (USA)

“Bathtubs Over Broadway”

BEST NEW DOCUMENTARY DIRECTOR COMPETITION – juried by Nelson George, Linda Goldstein Knowlton, Elvira Lind, Basil Tsiokos and Derek Waters

Albert Maysles New Documentary Director Award – Dava Whisenant for “Bathtubs Over Broadway” (USA).

“Phone Duty”

SHORT FILM COMPETITION CATEGORIES – juried by Steve Aoki, Amy Kaufman, Sheila Nevins, Alex Pettyfer, Norman Reedus, Alysia Reiner and Ondi Timoner

Best Narrative Short – “Phone Duty,” directed by Lenar Kamalov (Russia)

Best Animation Short – “Late Afternoon” directed by Louise Bagnall (Ireland)

“Notes from Dunblane: Lessons from a School Shooting”

SHORT DOCUMENTARY & STUDENT VISIONARY COMPETITION – juried by Sapphire, Joe Daniels, Amy L. Kaufman, Susan Lacy and James Steyer

Best Documentary Short – “Notes from Dunblane: Lessons from a School Shooting” directed by Kim A. Snyder (USA)

Student Visionary Award – “The Life of Esteban,” directed by Inès Eshun (Belgium)


STORYSCAPES AWARD – juried by Myriam Achard, Marcie Jastrow and Nicholas Thompson

Storyscapes Award – “Hero,” created by Navid Khonsari, Vassiliki Khonsari, and Brooks Brown

“Little Woods”

THE NORA EPHRON AWARD – juried by  Joanna Gleason, Rebecca Keegan, and Sasheer Zamata

The Nora Ephron Award: Nia DaCosta, director of “Little Woods” (USA)

“For Every Kind of Dream”

TRIBECA X AWARD – juried by Bonin Bough, Zachary Heinzerling and Brian Braiker

Tribeca X Award: “For Every Kind of Dream” series for Square, directed by Mohammad Gorjestani for Even/Odd

Where Art, Fashion & Culture Collide

Member Login

Forgot Password?

Join Us

Password Reset

Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.