Zani Gugelmann== 2012 Whitney Gala== The Whitney Museum, 945 Madison Ave., NYC== December 11, 2012== ©Patrick McMullan== Photo -- A. De VOS/PatrickMcMullan.com== ==
Zani Gugelmann
Amy Fine Collins
Amy Fine Collins
J. Alexander, Pamella Roland Devos, Jay Manuel, Robert Verdi, Nigel Barker, Cristen Barker
J. Alexander, Pamella Roland Devos, Jay Manuel, Robert Verdi, Nigel Barker, Cristen Barker
Adam Green
Adam Green

The Whitney Museum of American Art hosted its annual Gala and Studio Party at the Whitney Museum on December 10 raising more than $2.7 million. The event was originally scheduled to take place at Hudson River Park’s Pier 57 on October 30, but was postponed due to the devastation caused by Hurricane Sandy. In the wake of the unfortunate aftermath, a portion of this year’s Gala funds was donated to the New York Foundation for the Arts Emergency Relief Fund.

Whitney Museum Director, Adam D. Weinberg and honorary co-chairs Pamella Roland, Allison Kanders, Amy Phelan and Lizzie Tisch honored philanthropist and photography curator, Sondra Gilman Gonzalez-Falla for her loyalty and dedication to the museum. Guests included Joanne Leonhardt Cassullo, Daniel Arsham, Nigel and Crissy Barker, Klaus Biesenbach, Neil and Leslie Bluhm, Mary Boone, Lori Chemla, Richard Chang, Amy Fine Collins, Dori Cooperman, Steven and Nancy Crown, Melissa Chu, Donna De Salvo, Beth Rudin DeWoody, Fairfax Dorn, Candia Fisher, Carter Foster, Glenn and Amanda Fuhrman, Pam Goergen, Thelma Golden, Celso Gonzalez-Falla, Zani Guglemann, Jane Holzer, Robert Hurst, J. Alexander, Warren Kanders, Glenn Ligon, Leonard Lauder, Max Levai, Richard Levine, Jay Manuel, Richard Marshall, Paul Morris, Alex Mustonen, Daniel and Brooke Neidich, Tony Oursler, Anne Pasternak, Dogan Perese, John Phelan, Scott Rothkopf, Andres Serrano and Irina Movmyga, Lorna Simpson, Mike Starn, Inez van Lamsweerde and Vinoodh Matadin, Elisabeth Sussman, Jonathan Tisch, Laurie Tisch, Thomas Tuft, Robert Verdi, and Fred Wilson. Guest enjoyed a DJ set by Nate Lowman with Sennennes.

Dinner guests were joined by Studio Party co-chairs, Michael Avedon, Kyle DeWoody, Jon Neidich and guests, Hannah Bronfman, Lo Bosworth, Bethanie Brady, Alexandra Chemla, Alison Chemla, Amit Greenberg, Peter Davis, Adam Green, Ryan Humphrey, Daisy Johnson, KAWS, Charlotte Kidd, Jeremy Kost, Suzanna Lee, Bruno Levy, Justin Lowe, Liz Magic, Aimee Mullins, Takoon Panichgul, Polina Proshkina, Olga Rei and Valentine Uhovski, Iona Rozeal Brown, Matt Spangler, Phoebe and Annette Stephens, Monica and Peter Tessler, Manish Vora, Timo Weiland, Jordan Wolfson and iO Wright. Cocktails were by Southern Wine & Spirits of New York.

[slidepress gallery=’annual-whitney-museum-gala-2012′]

Photography by Diego Flores

Guests were able to experience the new Microsoft Windows 8 operating system through tablets and screens located on the perimeter of the dance floor. The 55” touch screens featured the new “Fresh Paint” application, allowing guests to create their own virtual art on the walls of the Whitney. Additionally, a photo booth allowed guests to take photos that were displayed in the living gallery installation created out of Surface tablets. After the gala fundraising dinner the after-party kicked off with guests served champagne and canapes.  There was a brilliant selection of instagram photography also for sale at the event featuring imagery by artists and personalities, that was a unique and contemporary addition to the event.

The Whitney Museum of American Art is the world’s leading museum of twentieth-century and contemporary art of the United States. Focusing particularly on works by living artists, the Whitney is celebrated for presenting important exhibitions and for its renowned collection. The Whitney is currently constructing a new building in downtown Manhattan. Designed by Renzo Piano, the building is expected to open in 2015.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Where Art, Fashion & Culture Collide

Member Login

Forgot Password?

Join Us

Password Reset

Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.